castellucci

making first writer cards

In musings, process, rachel perry welty on March 6, 2011 at 09:23

Last night I set about and ordered my first batch of cards for the diaspora to send out to the writers.  I decided to go with MOO as they have the possibility of doing small batches of cards with different images.  I’ve used them for my business cards, which I never remember to have on me, but they are mini and cute. I love the way they look.

The trick is to make sure that when I’m shop drop the cards into the authors books that it is clear enough to the person that discovers the card nestled in between the pages knows that the card it is an art project.  I’m going to self address and stamp the envelopes to go to me, so hopefully that will be the clue that its something that they should mail.  And MOO let’s you print a footer, so I printed this.

  • You have stumbled upon an art
    project! Please participate! Be
    inspired by the art on the
    postcard and write a micro
    story, poem or tiny philosophy
    and then mail back.
    Follow along at
    http://www.literarydiaspora.com

Once again, in a diaspora you have to scatter and let things go.  I may never get any of the shop dropped postcards back.  C’est la Vie!

So, I’ve printed the first 10 images.  I scanned them and cropped and I hope that they turn out OK.  Also, the post card is quite small, so I’m interested to see what kind of words come back.  As a lady who writes pretty lean, I’m not too worried that few words won’t pack a literary punch.

The one postcard that I’m struggling with is Rachel Perry Welty’s. I guess I’m going to have to recreate what she did with the reflective surface.  Because the seeing yourself is the best part of that card.  Rachel really threw me an artistic curve ball.  I love it! If you’ve seen her latest piece, there’s a picture of her in all reflective material with everything wrapped in it.  So it’s very her while also being Dark and Stormy.  Yay! Art!

Next up, I have to recruit some people all over to help me with the shop dropping.

Leave a Reply

